Gluten Free

Gluten is a protein mainly found in wheat, rye and barley grains. A gluten free diet is most common in people with celiac disease. This is an autoimmune condition when your body attacks and kills tissues when it comes into contact with gluten. However, you may want to reduce gluten to improve digestion or reach a specific health goal.

Benefits of a gluten free diet

Removing gluten from your diet can be problematic because you find it in most carbohydrates, such as bread and pasta. However, following a gluten free diet has its advantages.

A healthy lifestyle if you have celiac disease

• Boosts energy

• Improves digestion

• Makes it easier to avoid processed foods, such as pizza and pastries

• Can aid weight loss

• Ups your intake of fruit and veggies

• Enhances focus

• Anti-inflammatory

• May improve acne

• Can ease joint pain


FAQs about a gluten free diet

Below are some of the most frequently asked questions about having a gluten free diet.

What can you eat on a no gluten diet?

You can eat most plant-based foods, such as nuts, seeds, beans, peas and legumes. You can also have fruit and vegetables, fish, eggs, poultry, meat and low-fat dairy products. However, always check the label to ensure the products are gluten-free.

What are the first signs of being gluten intolerant?

If you are gluten intolerant, you may experience severe stomach cramps, bloating and gas. This is usually accompanied by diarrhoea or constipation after consuming gluten. You could also struggle with your concentration and feel constantly tired.

What is surprisingly not gluten-free?

Gluten doesn’t only exist in cereal, bread and pasta. There are a surprising number of things that also contain gluten, such as regular sausages, soy sauce, coated or flavoured nuts, stock cubes and chocolate.

Are potatoes gluten-free?

Yes. Not all carbohydrates contain gluten, and potatoes are entirely gluten free. That means you can still have chips or a tasty jacket potato, as long as there is no gluten coating.

Does cheese have gluten?

Natural cheese doesn’t usually have gluten, but some companies add gluten to cheese products to enhance the taste. If in doubt whether your cheese contains gluten, check the packaging for a gluten-free symbol. Alternatively, get your foods from a supermarket's ‘free from’ section and look for no gluten. 

Enjoy your gluten free diet with Grape Tree

We want you to love your food, no matter your dietary requirements. Try our gluten free chocolate, sweets, chips and supplements to nurture your health and wellness.